Texting While Driving Accident Lawyer Kansas City, MO
In Kansas City, if you undergo personal injuries, or family tragedies due to distracted driving, you may attain guidance and support from Kansas City laws.
Injuries or accidents pertaining to distracted driving can be prevented. Missouri texting while driving laws aim at prohibiting these forms of driving while being distracted, including the act of texting. Kansas City accident statistics show more than 2300 accidents due to distracted driving.
Post-release of the accidents and injury statistics, and an increment in Missouri traffic conditions and texting while driving issues, the new driving laws came into existence with strict implementation.
The warning highlights the use of technology to prevent distracted driving temptations associated with the use of cell phones.
What Is Distracted Driving
Distracted driving can take place in various ways. Using cell phones is the most common phenomenon of distracted driving. We can further categorize it into three main categories namely
- Visual: it involves diverting your eyes from the road while you drive by using cell phones.
- Manual: taking the hands off the driving wheel to use the cell phone especially texting
- Cognitive: the deviation of concentration while driving on the cell phone.
Missouri Laws On Distracted Driving
Distracted driving is not always an illegal act in Missouri, but not all forms of distracted driving. Texting on the cell phones while you drive is highly prohibited. Texting on cell phones while you are on public roads or highway in Missouri is banned, and it applies even if you do the activity on the traffic signal.
The adult drivers are strictly not permitted to make usage of their cell phones or any hand-held device for any reason. These laws include the following provisions:
All drivers are strictly warned to make usage of cell phones to text, read, send, or even write any message on their device while driving, except in the following scenario:
- The drivers who are between 14 to 17 years of age, holding an instruction permit along with restricted license cannot use any wireless communication device while driving except in cases of medical emergencies or illegal activities reporting.
- The drivers who are under the age of 16, with a restricted license, cannot have a non-sibling passenger under 18 years of age in the car while they drive.
- Drivers who are between 16 to 18 years of age cannot have more than one immediate family member in the car under the age of 18.
According to Missouri Laws, texting while driving prohibitions are an exception in a few situations. These include:
- A law enforcement officer or emergency service personnel can do so for work purposes.
- You can be an exception if your vehicle stops in an irregular and unknown roadway.
- A person who receives an emergency call, traffic message, or weather alerts.
- A person removing essential information relating to the operations and navigation of motor vehicles.
- The cellophane can be permitted to report current or ongoing illegal activities.
- Cell phone use to prevent immediate injury or harm to a person or property.
Driving laws violations
We depend on the violation of the Missouri texting while driving or any driving distraction laws; the following would be the result of violations.
- Monetary fines
- Suspending the license of drivers
- A court case, along with attorney fee charges.
- Increment in insurance fees
In addition to this, any distracted driving, which leads to another person’s death, the driver will face vehicular homicide charges.
Talk with Missouri Personal Injury Attorneys
If you suffered a severe injury or loss due to violation of texting while driving laws, get in touch with our trusted experts. We serve clients throughout the state and help with the best guidance and support.
For more information, contact Royce Injury Attorneys today to speak with a texting while driving accident lawyer Kansas City, MO residents recommend.