Texting While Driving Accident Lawyer Kansas City, MO
In Missouri, personal injury attorneys witness personal as well as family tragedies, which are the result of distracted driving. We all understand that injuries or accidents pertaining to distracted driving can be prevented. Missouri’s texting while driving laws aim at prohibiting these mistakes while driving. Kansas City accident statistics show more than 2300 accidents due to distracted driving.
After the release of these statistics, a significant increase in Kansas City traffic texting while driving prohibitions laws came into effect. The warning includes the use of technology to prevent distracted driving temptations associated with the use of cell phones.
Distracted driving can take place in various ways. Using cell phones is the most common phenomenon of distracted driving. It can be categorized into three main categories namely
- Visual: it involves diverting your eyes from the road while you drive by using cell phones.
- Manual: taking the hands off the driving wheel to use the cell phone especially texting
- Cognitive: the deviation of concentration while driving on the cell phone.
Missouri Laws on distracted driving – Texting while driving.
Distracted driving is not always an illegal act in Missouri, but not all forms of distracted driving. Texting while driving is highly prohibited. Texting on cell phones while you are on public roads or highways in Missouri is banned, and it applies even if you do the activity on the traffic signal.
The adult drivers are prohibited from talking on the cellophane or any hand-help device for any reason whatsoever. The Missouri laws for texting while driving includes the following specifications:
All drivers are strictly prohibited from text messaging, which includes reading, sending, or writing on your device with limited exceptions.
- The drivers who are between 14 and 17 years of age, with an instruction permit and restricted license farm permit, may not use the wireless communication device for any purpose other than reporting the illegal activities about medical emergencies.
- The drivers who are under the age of 16, with a restricted license, cannot have a non-sibling passenger under 18 years of age in the car while they drive.
- Drivers who are between 16 and 18 years of age cannot have more than one immediate family member in the car under the age of 18.
According to Missouri Laws, texting while driving prohibitions are an exception in a few situations. These include:
- A law enforcement officer or emergency service personnel can do so for work purposes.
- A mother’s vehicle stopped off the regular portion of the roadways.
- A person who receives an emergency call, traffic message, or weather alerts.
- A person removing essential information relating to the operations and navigation of motor vehicles.
- The cellphone can be permitted to report current or ongoing illegal activities.
- Cell phone use to prevent immediate injury or harm to a person or property.
Driving laws violations
We depend on the violation of the Missouri texting while driving or any driving distraction laws; the following would be the result of violations.
- Suspension of driving license
- Court case along with attorney fees
- Increase in insurance fees.
In addition to this, any distracted driving, which leads to another person’s death, the driver may face vehicular homicide charges.
Talk To Kansas City, MO Personal Injury Attorneys
If you suffered a serious injury or loss due to violation of texting while driving, get in touch with our trusted experts. We serve clients throughout the state and here to help with the best guidance and support.
For more information, contact Royce Injury Attorneys today to speak with a texting while driving accident lawyer Kansas City, MO residents recommend.